

Biophysical Journal Selects Poster Award Winners at Conformational Ensembles from Experimental Data and Computer Simulations Meeting

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 6, 2017

Contact: Ellen R. Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Rockville, MD—The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce winners of the *Biophysical Journal* Outstanding Poster Awards given at the "Conformational Ensembles from Experimental Data and Computer Simulations," meeting held August 25-29 in Berlin, Germany. The purpose of the Society's thematic meetings is to bring together researchers from diverse disciplines to discuss important biophysical topics that do not normally attend the same events. The poster winners were selected by a committee made up of top researchers including organizers of the meeting and editors of *Biophysical Journal*.

The student winners and their poster titles are:

Nicole Erlenbach, Goethe University, Frankfurt

Conformational Dynamics of Nucleic Acids by Orientation Selective PELDOR

Jasdeep Singh, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi

Mechanistic Insights into Modulation of Amyloid Pathways by DNA Intercalator

The postdoctoral fellow winners and their posters titles are:

Falk Hoffman, Ruhr University Bochum

Closing the Gap between NMR Relaxation and Molecular Dynamics Simulations of Methyl Dynamics in Proteins

Yani Zhao, Polish Academy of Science

Structural Changes in LTP1 Isoforms from Beer at Air-water Interfaces

The winners were recognized at the close of the meeting and received a certificate recognizing their achievement and a monetary prize.

Biophysical Journal (BJ) is the leading international journal for original research in molecular, cellular, and systems biophysics. The journal publishes work in modern biophysics, which encompasses the study of biological structures with a focus on mechanisms at the molecular, cellular, and systems level using the concepts and methods of physics, chemistry, mathematics, engineering, and computational science.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.

OFFICERS

President

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

President-Elect

Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

Past-President

Suzanne Scarlata
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Secretary

Frances Separovic
University of Melbourne

Treasurer

Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

Executive Officer

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Zev Bryant Jane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Teresa Giraldez Ruben Gonzalez, Ir.

Ruben Gonzalez, Jr. Ruth Heidelberger Robert Nakamoto

Arthur Palmer Gabriela Popescu

Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

Erin Sheets Joanna Swain

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Jane Dyson

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards

Betsy Komives

Early Careers

Bert Tanner

Education

Gina MacDonald

Finance

Kalina Hristova

Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

Member Services

Frances Separovic Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Nominating

Art Palmer

Professional Opportunities

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs

Edward Egelman

Publications

Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich